Disney Queen

I may have started off the trip as a naive first timer [they gave me a pin and everything], but by the end I’d learned a thing or two. I’d ridden the rides, found the good food, seen the secret Indiana Jones Eeyore and Mary Poppins. I’d EXPERIENCED things.  Just look at this comparison.

Before:

img_4006

Getting ready for my first ride, Toy Story.

After:

img_8072

DON’T EVEN TRY TO TELL ME WHEN TO USE MY FAST PASSES, CARS GUY.

Some Disney essentials I learned on this trip included: Embrace the fanny pack lifestyle. Buy your t-shirts before the trip, but buy your ears at the park. Find a hotel within walking distance. Don’t be afraid to pin trade. Bring extra hair ties. Have fun people with you to keep you entertained in line.

img_8040

img_7763

On some things though, we just got lucky. Like that time I lost my fast pass, but they let me on anyway. Or the time people just gave us five fast passes. Or the first night we were on the storybook land canal boats as the fireworks went off. They stopped the ride and we got to watch them from the boats. If you can manage to do this on purpose I recommend it, they’re pretty great seats for the show.

In fact, one of the biggest surprises to me was how fun Disney was after dark. Even though I was always starting to get tired by that point, there was something extra fun about the atmosphere at night. I mean just look at these California Adventure neon signs.

img_7914

img_8101

img_8113

img_8108

img_8105

One of my trip highlights was seeing the World of Colors Saturday night. It’s an amazing lights and water display by the pier.

Here’s a picture of the pier by daylight.

img_7721

Here’s a picture of the pier all lit up for the light show. These pictures in no way do it justice. The show itself, I didn’t even attempt to capture photographically, you’ll have to see it for yourself.

img_8141

img_8123

While I feel a little bit older and wiser and after this whole Disney experience, I do realize I still have much to learn. I mean It’s A Small World was closed. There’s no way I can consider myself an expert yet. I guess I’ll just have to go again. Till’ next time Disney!

img_8025

BUT I LOOK LIKE A PRO, RIGHT? I mean, check out that fanny pack.

Currently: Watching iZombie while getting pumped for Christmas, as contradictory as those two activities are …

One thought on “Disney Queen

Leave a Reply

