Happy Camper

Once, at a single and mingle type event, where I had spent quite some effort trying not to let conversation lapse into awkward silence, this happened:

Guy: [Last ditch effort at finding common interest] I really like camping. Do you like camping?

Me: [Remembers sitting around a campfire eating a s’more once] Yeah!

Guy: Oh great! Where are your favorite camping spots?

Me: [Thinks further] You know what, I don’t really like camping.

[Awkward silence ensues anyway. Some things cannot be helped.]

The point being: I don’t have much experience in camping, but the older I get [and the more I live in Utah] the more I’m learning to enjoy the great outdoors. The gorgeous mountain views continue to draw me in, even though when I announce my good, outdoorsy intentions, family members send me photos likes this:

IMG_6298

In fact, felt I would be neglectful not to share some of my wonderful camping and nature adventures this year. In particular I went on a wonderful camp out with my Church group.

IMG_6333

IMG_6398

IMG_6367

It did not hurt that our camp out included access to the Thomas’s cabin [Thank you!!] and that we played several rounds of Heads Up [I cannot get enough of this game].  But before that I did partake of all the natural beauty around me. I promise.

I was particularly enchanted by these lovelies and the view behind them [There is something about that layer of mist].

IMG_6303

IMG_6310

IMG_6304

IMG_6301

IMG_6302

To be honest, for this camping experience I did not technically sleep on the ground or in a tent. I did, however, sleep on the deck of the cabin, out under the stars. Which, trust me, shows significant personal growth. The next morning I also went out on a hike before we packed it in and headed back to the city.

IMG_6358

IMG_6357

IMG_6390

IMG_6371

IMG_6321

It should also be noted that a good camping experience is not complete without good people [and flower crowns being woven into someone’s hair].

IMG_6331

IMG_6439

Girl knows how to rock those flowers.

IMG_6445

Milkshakes and fries are mandatory after all camping excursions.

IMG_6324

Currently: getting back into the swing of work after a weekend full of thrift shopping, Gilmore Girls, the aquarium, and sister time :)

2 thoughts on “Happy Camper

  1. Dear Mimi, WE LOVED THIS BLOG!!!! You are getting better and better and better ALL the time!… We love you! Gpa and Gma D.

  2. Pingback: Only happy when it rains | Bedelia

Leave a Reply

