Wyoming, My New Favorite Alien Planet

While in Yellowstone, I especially loved looking at the hot pools. The bacteria mats (ew, right?) created these other wordly colors and designs.

IMG_5454

IMG_5591

IMG_5523

IMG_5543

The reds and yellows were more vivid in person. It reminds me of a 70s psychedelic pattern.

IMG_5588

IMG_5480

IMG_5427

IMG_5530

IMG_5575

Love these ripples.

IMG_5599

Isn’t the cloud reflection on this one great?

IMG_5428

This one I think was called the mud pots or something like that.

This one I think was called the mud pots or something like that.

The water was so blue in some of them that they almost looked like beach water. A couple of these beach blue ones had steam coming off of them which only further reminded me of some misty fog beach scenes I saw last summer in California.

IMG_5423

IMG_5446

IMG_5563

IMG_5605

IMG_5570

IMG_5566

IMG_5553

IMG_5632

Oh and did I mention we went by Jackson lake on our drive back?

IMG_5698

The rest of trip was gone in a blur of antlers and good eats [Persephone Bakery and Pearl Street Market were the favs]. Our last day was mostly driving, but we managed to take a quick trip down the alpine slide before we headed home.

IMG_5140

Fun fact: apparently elk shed their antlers every year so no animals were harmed in the making of this arch.

My vacation read: Where'd You Go Bernadette

My vacation Read: Where’d You Go Bernadette, by Maria Semple.  Someone read this please. I had mixed feelings about it and really want to talk it out [Is it weird that I feel like I need to do this to know how much I actually liked it? haha I just feel indecisive about this. Although I did gobble it up so maybe it’s a good indecisive]. Even if you aren’t a reader you can at least admire the great cover art.

IMG_4921

Our temporary home away from home. We stayed in Teton village actually. Our hostel was pretty basic, but a good place to stay. Although the last night we did have to do some peace negotiations with some loud neighbors.

IMG_5724

The alpine slide.

IMG_4967

#hikingselfie Or was this on the Jenny lake boat?

IMG_5355

More Jackson wildlife.

IMG_5516

Another view of Yellowstone.

It was truly a pleasure Jackson [and Wyoming in general]. Let’s do it again sometime.

Currently: proud of my successful attempt at slow cooker jambalaya

4 thoughts on “Wyoming, My New Favorite Alien Planet

Leave a Reply

