Big Dreams. Tiny Kitchen.

One day I felt inspired to do a cooking blog post.* It had been a while and it seemed like the blog could use a little foodie love. I took it easy on myself and decided to finish off my never ending sack of potatoes by making baked potato soup. I had just made this for a large group the week before. Despite time crunches and rushing about, it turned out really well and was enjoyed [and eaten] by all. So the second time would go even better. Or at least so I thought.

First, I took a few artsy, yet instructionally useless photos of ingredients to feature on the blog.

IMG_3916

IMG_3930Look at the lighting on these potatoes, doesn’t it just make you want to have faith in me as a chef?

IMG_3904IMG_3905Then I got to work. I was calm, cool, collected, and fabulous looking as I started cooking in my adorable, fancy apron.

I soon realized I actually had way less of the side ingredients (green onions and bacon) then I needed. I was also a little short on the milk. But I would adjust (perhaps in the form of a garnish?)! I was, after all, a chef. A chef who refused to go to the grocery store again. I mean, I would only end up buying just a little too much side ingredients for one batch and then be forced to buy more potatoes and make it all again, only to discover I had too much bacon and green onions again, and … you get the point. Endless cycle of ingredient buying mismatching a la George Banks supermarket meltdown dilemma of hot dog buns and hot dogs never matching. But I digress.

I got the potatoes going and decided to make life easy on myself by microwaving the bacon. For you see my kitchen has this circulation problem where if you fry or burn anything and don’t immediately start opening windows and wafting towels around to encourage air flow, the smoke alarm decides to have a fit. Which after a while sounds like the worst possible noise on the planet and can lead to drastic measures, like yanking said infuriating smoke alarm off the wall, wrapping it in a kitchen towel, and throwing it in a corner of the living room.

I commenced microwaving the bacon. Something I’ve done many a time. But when I went to retrieve my bacon I discovered our plates are actually not microwavable (A thing I hadn’t considered checking, because, well, it is the twenty-first century. WE HAVE PUT PEOPLE ON THE MOON.). The poor plate cracked in half and the bacon was looking a little worse for the wear.

So goodbye bacon. Unfortunately this is a pretty key ingredient, which coupled with my scarcity of onions made my baked potato soup turn into a cheese potato soup. I felt ok about this until I looked at the enormous volume of my finished product.

A girl can only eat so much soup.

Especially when the soup is also a bit thick and lumpy. This was not helped by the fact that my roommate and I were then asked to make more soup for a Church activity. Due to the large amount of pot luck participation we came home with another big pot of soup.

IMG_3933It was soup on soup on soup for days until I finally cracked and got myself a hold of a Habit burger.

And that friends, is why tonight I will be making a sandwich for dinner and baking instead. Baking and I always seem to get along.

*Thank you Jess for giving me this idea and snapping me out of my blog laziness.

Currently: In love with this Footloose tribute. Jimmy and Kevin just get me.

Leave a Reply

