Liebster!

What is Liebster? Thankfully my friend Caity did the research, so now I know that “Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, and the award is given to up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers who deserve some recognition and support to keep on blogging.” Basically, as far as I can tell, it’s kind of a blog chain letter meant to encourage and support bloggers. Caity had excellent timing with sending this my way. I was just thinking I needed to get writing; I couldn’t have asked for better motivation.

Here are the rules:
  • Each person awarded must post 11 facts about themselves.
  • Answer the 11 questions the nominator has set for them.
  • Choose five bloggers to nominate.
  • Create 11 more questions for the bloggers they will nominate.
  • Let the lucky bloggers know.

Let’s get started, 11 facts about me: 1. I have naturally wavy/curly hair and it took me forever to embrace that. 2. My favorite gameshow is Supermarket Sweep 3. I don’t like ordering the same menu item twice from a restaurant unless it’s Pappasitos. 4. I love cherries and cherry flavoring 5. My favorite color is red 6. I can recite the ham radio alphabet by heart 7. I like to be doing something with my hands while I concentrate. Usually this manifests in massive doodles all over my page margins, but at work for some reason I find myself twisting paperclips into unrecognizable shapes all day long. 8. One day I want to adopt a dog; preferably a pug or a boston terrier 9. I’ll probably never be a morning person, but I’ll always be a breakfast person 10. I have difficulty spelling the word definitely or saying the word statistics quickly 11. I can french braid hair.

And now for a little Q&A:

1. Who is the one celebrity, where if your significant other confessed their undying love for her (or him?), you’d be like “….oh yeah I totally get that.”?
Anne Hathaway. Girl’s got it together, plus she has this confident allure about her. I’ve got to learn how to project that!
2. Three words to describe your High School self:
Daydreamer. Wide-Eyed. Accepting.
3. Three words to describe yourself now:
Adventurer. Learning. Searching.
4. If you could eat any ONE thing (no genres, it has to be a single dish) for the rest of your life, nutrition/weight gain aside, what would it be?
Pizza. It was my go to as a kid and I think I should stick with it.
5. What’s your favorite thing about yourself?
Probably that I’ve finally learned how to be happy doing things by myself; things that I used to think would be depressing.
6. If you could have any super-talent (not super-power, just like, a super crazy talent that makes you better at that one thing than anyone else), what would it be?
Gymnastics. I am balance impaired in real life. Ooo or one of those people with photographic/amazingly advanced memories. I would love feeling like I had all this knowledge neatly tucked away in my brain ready to wow at any second.
7. Do you color your hair?
Sometimes. I actually haven’t done it in quite some time, but I have plans to make a change soon!
8. If you could be a contestant on any reality-show, which would it be?
In a perfect world where I don’t have to worry about my skill level? It’s a tie between Project Runway, Master Chef, and (the now cancelled) Wickedly Perfect.
9. What’s the last song you listened to?
Stay, Lisa Loebe. I was having a 90s moment (thanks to this snl sketch!) But to make it a tad more realistic I went to Spotify and put my playlist on shuffle and Locked Up by Ingrid Michaelson came on.
10. What did you study in college/post-high school education?
English
11. Who’s your favorite Muppet?
Miss Piggy

I’ve decided to nominate:

  • Courtney, You Are What You Love
  • Emily, Movies and Mayhem (I realize the whole thing may be too mayhem-ish so maybe you could reveal 11 movie related facts about yourself? Like your favorite childhood movie, soundtrack, etc.)
  • Sara, Always an Adventure, Always
  • Emma, Emma SueAlice, It’s been to long since your great writing has popped up in my feed (or since I’ve seen you for that matter)!
  • Gabby, Who Knows, Who Cares. I hope this encourages you to revive your blog or start your new blog!

I hope you have fun with this! My questions for you are:

  1. If I gave you a plane ticket right now where would you go?
  2. What is your dream job?
  3. What is the craziest fashion trend or look you’ve ever tried?
  4. What was your favorite childhood birthday?
  5. If you could pick one dish that you could make perfectly every time, what would you choose?
  6. If you had to pick the life of a fictional character (be they movie/book/tv etc.), who would you be?
  7. If you could pick any subject to be an expert on what would it be?
  8. What’s your favorite thing about yourself? Yes, I stole this from Caity, but I think it’s a good question :)
  9. What is your favorite thing to do when your stuck home alone?
  10. What song can you not resist dancing to?
  11. If you could make a movie what would it be? No need to give a whole plot, just give us a title, lead actors, and tagline, and we can fill in the blanks.

Currently: Indulging in SNL clips and fruit snacks

2 thoughts on “Liebster!

  1. AMELIA!!! i completely forgot about supermarket sweep until this very moment. i LOVE that show!!! is it still on anywhere? i need to get my hands on it.

    other than that, thanks for the nomination and something that i really like/admire/envy about you is how independent you are … i love that you can be by yourself and be happy. i wanna learn to love that. you’re an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

