Snowcones, Barbie, and DIY

June has just been flying by. Nothing truly BIG has happened. There’s just a lot of small things all stacked together making the calendar wooosh by.

For instance I had the pleasure of attending a Barbie themed birthday party that was lots of fun. Everyone was supposed to come dressed up as either Barbie or Ken. Many Barbies and Kens attended including Sleepover Barbie, Rockstar Barbie, 50s Barbie, Business Casual Ken, Tourguide Barbie, Baywatch Barbie and Ken, Jazzercise Barbie, and Army Kens (or G.I. Joes, haha). I love costume parties where everyone gets into it; it’s always good inspiration for future parties. I was Western Barbie.

They even had a "Barbie Box" for everyone to take pictures in.

They even had a “Barbie Box” for everyone to take pictures in.

Note: This party really made me want to watch Lifesize. It’s been way too long.

This is the shoe picture I took on purpose of Katie (Sleepover Barbie), Me (Western Barbie), and Karen (Classy 50s Barbie).

This is the shoe picture I took on purpose of Katie (Sleepover Barbie), Me (Western Barbie), and Karen (Classy 50s Barbie).

This is the not-so-on-purpose shoe picture I randomly ended up taking while playing with my camera. However I felt it was really fun with all the different color shoes and party dresses going on, so I kept it :)

This is the not-so-on-purpose shoe picture I randomly ended up taking while playing with my camera. However I felt it was really fun with all the different color shoes and party dresses going on, so I kept it :)

I helped my sister move back to Texas. We did a lot of packing boxes and creative car tetris to get all of her stuff in my Toyota. But it wasn’t all work and no play. We took a little break in the middle to get some delicious snowcones. We also discovered my car’s cupholders are just the right size for Ben & Jerry ice cream containers, making it easy to attempt to eat the last content of your freezer while on the go, haha.

I was sad to see Gabby go (at least I’ll get to see her in August!), but I was excited to see another family member move to Utah. My cousin Amy started at BYU for summer semester so I got to see her and her family. We had a lot of fun catching up.

snowcone

Mmmm, lemon lime and cherry! This was a “small.” I can’t imagine how you’d handle anything bigger. They also let you get ice cream in the middle or a snow cap, but I just like pure snow cone :)

I also finished Sarah’s Key. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it if you need a good book (Warning: It is very sad, so I wouldn’t exactly call it a light beach read or anything like that). Now I just need to go see the movie!

I also went to Emily’s brother’s wedding with Courtney and Emily.  We took advantage of the photobooth while we were there:

We got surprised by the first photo, haha.

We got surprised by the first photo, haha.

Oh, also did I mention there was cake at this wedding? Over 20 different types of cake (Don’t worry I didn’t try all of them)?

Yum.

Yum.

I also saw the movie The Lucky One (Starring Zac Efron and his handsome smolder) in the dollar theater last week. Let me tell you the dollar theater always comes through for entertainment, one way or the other. We got super giggly over the overly dramatic romantic-ness at all, making for a very fun time (Don’t worry, I don’t think we made any enemies. We managed to keep it under control for most of the “serious” moments.). You can check out Emily’s opinion here. Warning: She pulls no punches when it comes to Nicholas Sparks.

My final June task I wanted to share is a little DIY project I’ve been working on. I’m in the middle of making a new duvet cover based off of some knotted quilt Anthropologie bedding I’d been eying. I was a little intimidated by this at first, but my Aunt Mary had done it before and assured me it could be done. I’ve been meaning to work on it for I don’t know how long, and now I’m finally getting close to the finish line. I’ll post some pictures (and links to the tutorial) as soon as I’m done.

Here’s a sneak peek:

purple quilt

Knotting the squares is the most time consuming part. I’m a rather inexperienced seamstress so hopefully it all comes together well. I’m pleased with how it’s going so far (not perfect, but not embarrassing either, haha).

Well that’s it. I hope you are having a wonderful June and a great summer!

Currently: have Francoise Hardy songs stuck in my head thanks to Courtney’s blog :)

Leave a Reply

