Picnic your way through Summer: Antelope Island and Willard Bay

I know technically we have not hit the first day of summer yet, but I prefer to get started on these things as soon as possible. I just love summer and summertime activities. Like picnics and day trips. Which I’ve also decided to get a head start on.

My friend Emily has been dying to see the Spiral Jetty so we decided to go but we could only go one day after Courtney got off work. Long story short we realized we didn’t have as much time as we wanted, so we decided to change our plans to Antelope Island instead.

antelope island

On the road to Antelope Island

It was a very nice change of plans.

Although we will definitely be going to the Spiral Jetty sometime soon! Antelope Island was an addition to our summer wishlist not a replacement :) Antelope Island is a state park in the Great Salt Lake. We went on a weekday, in the evening, so things were relatively empty so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. It’s north of Salt Lake; if you’d like to visit you can see the info on it here.

antelope island

See? We had the place to ourselves.

great salt lake

Great Salt Lake

Emily made us a lovely picnic dinner to enjoy while we were there.

There were many wonderful things to eat, but my favorite part of the picnic was the homemade pita chips and the amazing cheese dip that went with it.

There were many wonderful things to eat, but my favorite part of the picnic was the homemade pita chips and the amazing cheese dip that went with it.

We explored a bit then headed through the sand to wade into the lake. After we’d gotten all the Great Salt Lake time we wanted we washed off the sand and salt as best we could and headed home.

Showing off their flexibility, lol

Showing off their flexibility, lol

Wouldn't it be nice if the view outside your window was always this beautiful?

The drive home. Wouldn’t it be nice if the view outside your window was always this beautiful?

A little view from our ride home.

A more lively view of our ride home.

For Memorial Day we wanted to go somewhere fun that wasn’t too far and decided to try out Willard Bay.

The water was a tad cold, but the weather overall was gorgeous.

The water was a tad cold, but the weather overall was gorgeous. We set out a blanket and enjoyed all the sunshine.

We packed another picnic. This time a group effort. I made some pressed sandwiches from this blog post (Thanks Sarah!), Emily made some amazing maple bars, Katie brought fruit, and Ben brought all the drinks and sides we could ask for. It was dee-lish. Seriously. Everything was beautiful and sunny (as you will notice since I am squinting in every picture). The water was cold, but that didn’t stop me from jumping in.

Who wouldn't want to spend the day here?

Who wouldn’t want to spend the day here? This is later in the afternoon/evening. What you don’t see in this picture is this way too open with their pda couple who ended up having a blanket right next to our picnic table. They made it… memorable…to say the least, haha.

We also took advantage of the rentals they had there and took out a canoe for an hour. It was really fun, but I seemed to be cursed when it came to getting the boat to go in the direction we wanted, lol. I kept not coordinating with my cousin who was also rowing, so we ended up taking a very curvy and zig zag-y path across the water.

We're off!

We’re off!

I took the lead and then was quickly demoted when it immediately became clear I was no good at navigating the canoe, haha. I was pretty much happy to go in whatever direction the bay wanted to propel us.

I took the lead and then was quickly demoted when it immediately became clear I was no good at navigating the canoe, haha. I was pretty much happy to go in whatever direction the bay wanted to propel us. My cousin Ben ended up being our “Captain.”

All of us canoe adventurers. It was very bright and sunny :)

All of us canoe adventurers. It was very bright and sunny :) Thanks to Emily for these pictures; I was afraid to bring my phone/camera on the canoe.

Possibly the only canoe picture where I don't look in pain from trying to smile while looking at the sun, haha.

Me and Emily. Ben was supposed to be in it, but have you ever tried to take a MySpace style pic (Arm outstretched…) of three people while staying balanced on a canoe? Also this is possibly the only canoe picture where I don’t look in pain from trying to smile while looking at the sun, haha.

After we were done playing in the water, we just relaxed, played some games, and then ended the evening with some hot dogs and s’mores.

Me and Katie.

Me and Katie.

Grilling up some hotdogs.

Cooking up some hotdogs.

I introduced everyone to Egyptian Slapjack/ Ratscrew (which got slightly competitive!) and then we played some Apples to Apples.

I introduced everyone to Egyptian Slapjack/ Ratscrew (which got slightly competitive!) and then we played some Apples to Apples.

We made s'mores with a variety of fillings. One of my favs was the Reese's cup s'more! So good!

We made s’mores with a variety of fillings. One of my favs was the Reese’s cup s’more! So good!

Ben and me.

Me and Cousin.

Sunset at Willard Bay.

Sunset at Willard Bay.

The only thing we forgot? Water!! In our efforts to pack a fun picnic lunch we only packed soda. Oops. We ended up sucking on ice cubes and then everyone had a huge glass as soon as we got home. We won’t be making that mistake again anytime soon.

The sunset left the water looking so colorful and glow-y.

The sunset left the water looking so colorful and glow-y.

Everyone who went. It was a great group :)

Everyone who went. It was a great group :)

Of course, local parks are always lovely spots for picnics too. Just two weeks ago my friend Courtney and I had a wonderful picnic lunch in Sugarhouse Park (See? I told you I was on top of this summer thing.). She even brought her mini grill so we could make hamburgers.

I hope there will be plenty more fun picnics, day trips, and good weather in store this summer!

Currently: relaxing after some much needed sister time in Provo. oh and OBSESSED with cinegram. That’s how I made the little Antelope Island gif (I had taken a video of the window view with the music playing in the background).

One thought on “Picnic your way through Summer: Antelope Island and Willard Bay

Leave a Reply

