Family Time

Last weekend my parents came to visit from Texas. We had a great time! Here are some of the fun things we did while they were here:

Mom got in first, on Wednesday afternoon. I was working but thankfully I have a great boss who let me leave early to pick her up and spend the rest of the day together. After I picked her up from the airport we went to my apartment and rested and got her things in order. Then, we ate dinner at the Blue Lemon. Both of our meals were great and it was so fun to just sit and talk. After that we went grocery shopping at my favorite place, Harmons!

Mama showing off her yummy fish tacos.

Lemons at Blue Lemon, haha

Thursday night my Mom also came with me to institute to see John Bytheway speak. He gave a talk  on the “parable of the marinade.” The basic idea was to surround yourself and “soak up” good things. He was a great speaker and we both really enjoyed his message. He told a lot of interesting stories and also shared some great quotes. One of my favorite quotes that he shared was “Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change.” We were shocked more people weren’t there. Many people came, but it was empty compared to who would have shown up for that event if it was in SugarLand. We sat on the front row with my friend Courtney and her parents, who were also visiting for conference (from North Carolina). They were equally shocked and we agreed that Utah people are spoiled when it comes to these things :)

We got a hotel in downtown and had lots of fun exploring the area. One of our favorite things about our hotel was the morning breakfast and the evening happy hours. Gabby and I had the bartender whip us up Shirley Temples every night :)

Gabby enjoying her drink

I had one too!

One of the places we went downtown was Eva. Eva’s is a Mediterranean tapas place. We had to wait a while to get in, but we sat outside and the weather was nice, so it wasn’t too bad. However we were starving by the time we got in. We tried the signature brussel sprouts and were very impressed.

Everyone at Eva’s. Doesn’t Dad look so excited to be stuck waiting outside? haha

The next morning I had to go back to work but my family watched the morning session of conference in the hotel and then watched the afternoon session in the Tabernacle. It was fun to see my parents experience temple square. They had never been in the conference center before and it had been a long time since my Mom had seen the Salt Lake Temple. She kept commenting on how beautiful it was.

The beautiful Salt Lake Temple. This picture is actually not from the weekend my parents visited; for some reason we forgot to take a temple picture! Emily snapped this photo as we drove by Temple Square last week.

Mom also loved the blossoming trees in my front yard. Luckily it was nice when everyone first got here. It got a little rainy and cold on Sunday, but other than that we had wonderful weather.

My cousin Ben came up from Provo and went to Priesthood session with my Dad. We dropped Ben and my Dad off for Priesthood session and then me and my mom sat in traffic for a while (it’s best to be prepared and take the trax if possible). However once we got out of that traffic we rewarded ourselves with Ruby Snap cookies. I love Ruby Snap, and it was fun to introduce my Mom to this treat. The girl working there was very nice. She gave us lots of samples and then after we made our selections she threw in a free cookie! She said that we needed to try the Maris, since it was a chocolate lover’s essential. She was right. When they guys were done we all went out to dinner together. It was great to see Ben.

Cousins! With red eye apparently, haha, oh well. 

Our Ruby Snap treat. We didn’t waste anytime eating these cookies.

Sunday was great because I didn’t have to work and could actually spend the day with my family and go to conference. We had planned our morning down to the minute, but had forgotten that since it was the morning session so there was Music and the Spoken Word first, and we had to be there early. So we skipped breakfast (big deal for us, we love the Embassy Suite breakfast lol) and hustled to the trax to get there. We made it in plenty of time and had some time to sit in our balcony seats and admire the conference center. We also ended up sitting next to some friends from Sugar Land.

Conference!

We also met my Aunt Mary and cousin Camie for lunch. We had fun celebrating their birthdays and eating the yummy food at Cucina Deli.

Camie and Mary. Aren’t they just the cutest?

Of course we also had to do some shopping. We checked out City Creek and hit up Nordstrom Rack. Everyone (even my Dad) found something they liked.

Me and mom also got crazy into celebrity apprentice while she was here. They did this walking for walgreens competition and we saw the kit they put together when we were out shopping later. We had to get it! Lucky for us it was free if you signed your email up with the program.

After we took my Dad to the airport and my sister back to Provo my Mom and I relaxed and recovered from our crazy weekend. We got frostys and spent some time reading in SugarHouse Park.

A lovely day at SugarHouse Park.

My book choice for the day. I know most people read this in high school, but I never did, so I thought it was time to give it a try. Plus nothing beats reading on sunny day.

I also got a haircut from Elizabeth at the Aveda Salon while my family was here. It was kind of a big change ( I cut off a lot!) but I love it. I’ve worn it curly and straight and it’s fun both ways. You can’t tell from the picture, but it’s an asymmetrical cut so the back is shorter then the front. It’s fun and light and just what I needed for spring. Thanks Elizabeth :)

Soooo blurry, but I love this pic anyways. 

Well that’s it for now. It was great to have the whole family together. I loved having everyone close and can’t wait till we can do it again!

Currently: Having a beautiful Easter Sunday! I hope you are too!

Leave a Reply

